NEW in Molecular Genetics: The 4-tier system for the classification of sequence variants

Sequence alterations have classically been divided into two categories: "mutation" and "polymorphism". However, the rapid increase in sequencing data from healthy and various diseased tissues has made it obvious that there is a broad spectrum between clearly disease-associated pathogenic alterations and non-pathogenic polymorphisms. As of now, we are working in molecular genetics with the world's most widely used 4-tier classification system, which we have adapted to central questions in hematological diagnostics.

Click here for more information about the 4-tier system

Behind each sample is a patient

Our work is interdisciplinary. We combine our competences in cytomorphology, immunophenotyping, molecular genetics, chromosome analysis and FISH and thereby provide the ideal basis for an optimized, individualized, and highly reliable diagnosis. The responsibility for our patients is the center of our activities.


Examinations per sample in 2020

  • 1 cytomorphology
  • 2 immunophenotyping
  • 3 FISH
  • 4 molecular genetics
  • 5 chromosome analysis

Quality at MLL

Our methods are accredited to the highest standards. As part of our quality assurance measures, we regularly take part in round robin tests for our methods.

More information about quality management at the MLL

Interdisciplinary and international research

We have contributed to a broad variety of collaborations on scientific issues for 20 years through our international networks with other diagnostic laboratories and research groups around the world.

Learn more about our research and scientific projects here